Just A Stop

It was just a stop.

The train had halted, and was cooling her heels.

The platform swarmed with unfamiliar faces;

mysterious, attractive, peaking my curiosity,

etched with stories from different places.

But it was just a stop.

I craned my neck to look out from the window,

to absorb more than what met my eye

when a family had to find my window to halt at,

cutting my vision, tearfully waving goodbye.

But it was just a stop.

Did I really need to go out and explore?

Did I want to? No, there was no intention as such.

Yet I was at the door, and suddenly on the platform,

wondering what attracted me so much.

But it was just a stop.

An innocent fascination could not harm me.

I marveled at the beauty of the station and beyond.

Hurried footsteps, musical voices, colourful chunnis:

how could I take it in and not be fond?

But it was just a stop.

I knew it had to leave my life; I had to go ahead

with perhaps just a memory of quiet found fun.

Yet it held me by heart, and stopped me in my tracks

and before I knew, the damage had been done.

But it was just a stop.

The train had whistled and poof! It was gone!

And along with it, the friendly, attractive crowd too.

I was left alone, fending for myself, with no one to blame

Except myself, as it was I who had missed the cue

That it was just a stop.

Image

December 2012

One thought on “Just A Stop

Leave a Reply

