Melting

That tear is a stranger

Welled up in my eye.

I always prized myself

As one never to cry.

 

Yet you dissolved my heart

And turned my steps to stone

As I tread the lonely way

To what I call my home.

 

A place of empty darkness,

Sans sparkling smile of yours.

Perfect to mind my business,

Within four walls, closed doors.

 

Those singing to solitude

Are no longer a-singing.

I know not what in future

The tides of time are bringing.

 

Oh, I would take them all;

My beacon’s lost its shine.

I will though not lose heart,

I know you’ll be just mine.

 

A thought of soothing comfort,

Albeit not truly wise,

A language sweet yet foreign,

I cannot recognise.

 

We knew it had been coming,

An inevitable goodbye.

And yet I could not stop

The stranger in my eye.

 

Nor stones dragging my footsteps,

Darkness emptying my home;

If it weren’t for you,

I’d love walking alone.

 

April 2012

Leave a Reply

