The Social Butterfly

I like to see my name
carved on a piece of wood
etched on a stone for good
or printed on a piece of paper.

I like to see people read it
as it reflects in their eyes
as their eyebrows fall then rise
when they realise it is me.

It is rather a foolish thing;
I know they aren’t a lot
but they are all that I have got
to validate myself.

And in a hundred years or so
I will not be liked or known
or etched on an important stone
hence the value for the present.

We butterflies are not eagles
to fly above the rest
and pass the originality test
to crave not for attention.

One thought on “The Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

